Snowbiking

Snowbiking“You’re going mountain-biking?” My wife asked in a puzzled voice. It was January and we had just received 6 inches of new snow. “Of course not” I answered, laughing off the question, “that would be silly, I’m going snow-biking.” Admittedly, the only difference would be the clothing I would wear. I would, in fact, be riding my mountain-bike in the snow. Calling it snow-biking suddenly made it okay and logical. See, I bought a new mountain-bike just before Christmas and I was too impatient to wait until spring to get it out on the trails. My dog Scout did back flips of excitement as I cleared the driveway and loaded the bike into the back of my suburban. He knew we were going on an adventure.

That was the first of many snow-bike rides this past winter and early spring. I’ve had some great rides and learned some valuable, and sometimes painful, lessons along the way. I even developed the top 5 reasons you go snow-biking:

  1. Impatientitis; when the strong desire to do something overrides logical thought patterns, no matter how ill-advised that something might be.
  2. You have a philosophy that exercise should include more than sore legs and heavy breathing; like bruises, abrasions, and maybe a fracture or two.
  3. You intended to load your skis, snowshoes, or dogsled, but somehow your mountain-bike found its way into the car.
  4. You love the feeling of not feeling. That is, your fingers, your face, or your toes.
  5. You start to take advice from your dog Scout, who believes snow-biking is better than bacon.

Scout

Eleanor Roosevelt once said, “Do one thing every day that scares you.” Can you imagine first lady Roosevelt tearing down the mountain on a bike in the snow! Actually, mountain-biking in the snow, or “snow-biking,” allowed me to experience the trails in a new way. The mountains and snow covered pines creates spectacular scenery, which gets your mind off how hard you are working, something that is tough to do on a treadmill or stationary bike in the basement. I also learned better balance, how to manage a turn when the surface is slick, and how to climb more efficiently.   So snow-biking has made me a better mountain-biker.

You have heard the saying that variety is the spice of life, but variety does not have to be something completely new, it can include trying old things in new ways. This concept can be applied to cooking at home or performing at work. Just ask my college roommates about gruel night. This was a meal I invented where you take every leftover in the fridge and mix it together with a pot of spaghetti on the stove, wa-la, gruel. New, different, not always good, but always an adventure! I tried selling this concept to McDonalds, I called it McGruel. They came up with McNuggets instead.

So mix it up, try something old in a new way. It won’t always work out, and you might sustain some bruises along the way, but you might also find new enjoyment and perhaps even start a new trend. Oh, and don’t forget to let us know how it goes.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark, professionals built the Titanic. -Unknown

5 thoughts on “Snowbiking

Leave a Reply

